The Accounting Research Institute (ARI) was first formed in 2002 as a special interest group.  Since then, ARI had  gone through a complete evolutionary cycle which includes of first being a  special interest group (SIG), then as a research centre and finally as a  research institute. The Ministry of Higher Education formally approved the formation of ARI in 2005.   As a research institute, ARI is responsible to coordinate  and manage the activities of its eight multi-discipline research centres  (also known as  units of excellence).  Effective November 2009, ARI has been recognised by the Ministry of Higher Education as one of the Higher Institutions' Centres of Excellence (HICoE).

Today ARI coordinates eight research centres that have been co-established with various national and international professional agencies: CIMA-UiTM Asian Management Accounting Research Centre (AMARC); UiTM-MICG Corporate Governance Research Centre (CGRC); UiTM-ACCA  Financial Reporting Research Centre (FCRC); UiTM-ACFE  Asia-Pacific Forensic Accounting  Research Centre (AFARe);   UiTM-CPA Australia Public Sector  Accounting  Research Centre  (PSARC); UiTM-ACCA  Asia-Pacific Sustainability  Research  Centre (APCeS), Islamic Accounting and Muamalat Research Centre (IAMRC) and  Government-Linked Companies  Research  Centre (GLCRC). As a HICoE,  ARI focuses its   current fundamental research  in  the niche area of forensic accounting and Islamic  Financial Criminology.  Nevertheless, ARI's other expertise in the areas of corporate governance, management accounting, financial reporting, public sector accounting, taxation, auditing and accounting information system will continue to be championed by respective research centres and SIGs.  By the end of 2012, ARI aspires to establish strategic alliances with at least five top notch global research centres.

  1. CIMA-UiTM Asian Management Accounting Research Centre (AMARC)
  2. UiTM-MICG Corporate Governance Research Centre (CGRC)
  3. UiTM-ACCA  Financial Reporting Research Centre (FCRC)
  4. UiTM-ACFE  Asia-Pacific Forensic Accounting  Research Centre (AFARe)
  5. UiTM-CPA Australia Public Sector  Accounting  Research Centre  (PSARC)
  6. UiTM-ACCA  Asia-Pacific Sustainability  Research  Centre (APCeS)
  7. Islamic Accounting and Muamalat Research Centre (IAMRC)
  8. Government-Linked Companies  Research  Centre (GLCRC)